Prayer Focus: The World

Bible Reading: Genesis 6-7

Scripture

Noah did everything just as God commanded him. (Genesis 6:22)

And Noah did all that the LORD commanded him. (Genesis 7:5)

Observation

Jesus said to His followers, “If you love me, you will obey what I command” in John 14:15. Noah’s love for the LORD was obvious, not only because of the words that he spoke in prayer, but because his life was lived in obedience despite the unusual task given to him.

Application

God may ask me to do something as bizarre as building a giant boat. Am I prepared to obey? Am I willing to surrender my time, talents, treasures, comforts, reputation, and future? Do I really love Jesus?

Prayer

LORD, I want to want You! I want to be a “good and faithful servant,” a “man after Your own heart.” I know that talk is cheap and actions speak louder than words. Help me to know and obey everything You command, even when it seems strange or difficult. I trust You and believe Your ways and plans are greater than mine. Thank You for being a loving Father who would never do anything to harm me. I love You, LORD!

