Prayer Focus: The World

Bible Reading: Genesis 8-9, Psalm 12

Scripture

“Whoever sheds the blood of man,
by man shall his blood be shed;
for in the image of God
has God made man. (Genesis 9:6)

Observation

We were created in the image of God. There is certainly mystery surrounding that image and what it is that we have in common with God. Some have mistakenly said that following The Fall, we no longer resemble God at all, yet this verse following The Flood makes it clear that there is something about us that looks like God.

Application

I know that my sinful thoughts and actions do not reflect the image of God. I know my decaying body cannot be anything like Him. There is one thing that I am certain that I share with God and that is my desire for relationship. God is all about relationships, and life here on earth would be unimaginable without connections with others (Tom Hanks tried in the movie Cast Away but even then he developed a relationship with a volleyball he named Wilson!).

Prayer

LORD, I want to not only know about Your or know You, I want to be like You. I want my life to reflect and re-present You well to others. I am so weak, sinful, and selfish. Help me to see You more clearly and take steps each day to better resemble You. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

