Prayer Focus: The World

Bible Reading: Genesis 14-16

Scripture

So Sarai said to Abram, “The LORD has prevented me from having children. Go and sleep with my servant. Perhaps I can have children through her.” And Abram agreed with Sarai’s proposal. (Genesis 16:2)

Observation

God made a covenant with Abram and said his descendents would be like the stars in the sky (Genesis 15:3). This was a radical promise given the fact that Abram was nearly 100 years old and childless. “And Abram believed the LORD, and the LORD counted him as righteous because of his faith” (Genesis 15:6) but one chapter later, Abram goes along with Sarai’s plan to “help God” and control the situation by having a child through Hagar the servant. Abram, this great man of faith, was not always faith-filled…or faithful.

Application

I greatly appreciate the fact that nearly every biblical “hero” is explicitly filled with flaws. For all the kudos that Abraham receives, he also tells his wife to lie and sleeps with his wife’s servant, among other things. In this particular instance he tries to seize control of a situation, working around God’s plan rather than patiently trusting in His perfect timing and will.

Prayer

LORD, show me where I am impatiently trying to do things my way rather than waiting for You. There are good things I want to see accomplished but I don’t want to run ahead of You or manipulate things when faith and time are all that’s necessary. I love You and trust You and look forward to seeing You work in and through me and Scio that Your Kingdom would come and Your would be done in the Ann Arbor area and beyond as it is in heaven. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

