Prayer Focus: Africa

Bible Reading: Genesis 24-26

Scripture

But Jacob said, “Swear to me first.” So he swore an oath to him, selling his birthright to Jacob.

Then Jacob gave Esau some bread and some lentil stew. He ate and drank, and then got up and left. So Esau despised his birthright. (Genesis 25:33-34)

Observation

Esau sold his birthright for a bowl of lentil stew. When I was a boy, my mom often made lentil soup and reminded us of this incredible story. The birthright was worth millions—likely billions of dollars, and in one rash moment of hunger, it was surrendered for a simple meal.

Application

There are moments when I am tempted to make rash decisions to fulfill my instant desires. It’s so easy to seize short-term gains at the expense of long-term losses. Patience truly is a virtue.

Prayer

LORD, may I never surrender the future for the present. Help me to see how my decisions today affect tomorrow. Grant me wisdom to always seek first Your Kingdom and righteousness and never let my fleshly hunger sabotage the big picture. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

