Prayer Focus: Africa

Bible Reading: Genesis 27-29

Scripture

Esau said, “Isn’t he rightly named Jacob? He has deceived me these two times: He took my birthright, and now he’s taken my blessing!” Then he asked, “Haven’t you reserved any blessing for me?” (Genesis 27:36)

When morning came, there was Leah! So Jacob said to Laban, “What is this you have done to me? I served you for Rachel, didn’t I? Why have you deceived me?”(Genesis 29:25)

Observation

It amazes me that God chose such a dysfunctional family to begin the nation of Israel. It’s also fascinating to see how sins are passed from one generation to the next. Abraham had issues with lying. So did Isaac. So did Jacob. In today’s reading we see Jacob being deceitful and two chapters later being the victim of deceit. Blessings, curses, and sins move down the family tree unless something radical changes the baton that is passed from one generation to the next.

Application

There are no perfect families. Not even mine! Ha! I must, however, be careful how I live my life, knowing that my children are likely to follow my behavior, be it good or bad. There is great hope in knowing that God can do great things in and through our lives despite our family of origin.

Prayer

LORD, give me wisdom to not only teach and train my children, but also model for them a life of holiness that looks like Jesus. I know that I fall SO short of Your righteousness and I need You, Holy Spirit, to not only fill me, but also my family. Please redeem the messes I make and may Your Kingdom come and Your will be done in my home as it is in heaven, despite my sins. Thank You for loving us all despite our many flaws. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

