Prayer Focus: Africa

Bible Reading: Genesis 41-43

Scripture

Pharaoh said to Joseph, “I had a dream, and no one can interpret it. But I have heard it said of you that when you hear a dream you can interpret it.”

“I cannot do it,” Joseph replied to Pharaoh, “but God will give Pharaoh the answer he desires.”

“It is just as I said to Pharaoh: God has shown Pharaoh what he is about to do. (Genesis 41:15-16, 28)

Observation

Joseph refuses to take credit for what only God can do. Instead, he confidently speaks to Pharaoh as a messenger of the Almighty. He knows God will provide an interpretation because He had a history of doing so.

Application

I want to confidently trust in God’s ability to provide for everything that I need, be it a dream interpretation, daily bread, or anything. He promises to care for us better than He does the birds or lilies (Matthew 6:25-34). Why do I worry…about anything?!

Prayer

Daddy, thank You for Your amazing love, power, and provision. I never want to accept credit that belongs to You, nor do I want to worry about Your abilities or faithfulness. You have been faithful and true for generations and You never change. I give You the things that concern me—okay, the things that worry me! Work in and through me to accomplish Your plans and purposes. You are good, true, and faithful…always. I love You!

