Prayer Focus: The Americas

Bible Reading: Genesis 47-50

Scripture

But Joseph said to them, “Don’t be afraid. Am I in the place of God? You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives. So then, don’t be afraid. I will provide for you and your children.” And he reassured them and spoke kindly to them. (Gen. 50:19-21)

Observation

Two things I need to be reminded of:

1. The story isn’t done yet.

2. God is able to use even awful things to accomplish great things.

This gives me hope and it gives me perspective. We all have things in our lives that we can’t make sense out of. Seemingly senseless or awful things that we had no control over or might not have been our fault. But God isn’t done with our story. Sometimes, like Joseph, we are able to see the fruits of those wilderness times. Sometimes the fruits don’t ripen until after we are gone. But this verse reminds me that He has a plan and He will accomplish it.

Yeah, that gives me hope.

Application

Today I will look at my life, and remember that the story isn’t done yet. That family member I’m praying for salvation for? That story isn’t done yet. The job situation that I don’t know what to do about? Not done yet. The sin I’ve been struggling with and it sometimes wins? Not done yet. He’s not done with me yet. No matter how terrible my situation seems or feels or is… He can still do great things with it, because he has a plan.

It’s why I need Him so much. Because He knows what He’s doing when I often don’t have a clue.

Prayer

Lord, help me trust you. Help me relax in the truth that I might not be able to see in my every day; that you mean all things for my good. For the good in my moments, and for the good of your people. Amen.

