Prayer Focus: Asia

Bible Reading: Job 29-32

Scripture

I made a covenant with my eyes not to look lustfully at a girl. (Job 31:1)

Observation

Ben Franklin said that an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure. It’s easy to find ourselves in the midst of temptation and look for a WWJD bracelet to help us choose our next step. Creating boundaries in advance of the temptation is far more effective in living righteously. While there are no guarantees, preventing sin is much easier than dealing with its consequences. Job “made a covenant” with his eyes in advance of temptation to “not look lustfully at a girl.” This is certainly in line with yesterday’s subject of wisdom.

Application

It is essential for me to have boundaries and accountability in my life in order to honor God. It is a lie of the enemy that I can do it on my own. I desperately need the Holy Spirit, trusted friends, and self-awareness in order to battle against the world, the flesh, and the devil.

Prayer

LORD, thank You for the example of Job. Thank You for the Holy Spirit. Thank You also for my wife and other close friends that provide accountability and support for me in my daily battle against temptation. I desire to follow You completely. “Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts” (Psalm 139:23). In Jesus’ Name, amen.

