Prayer Focus: Europe

Bible Reading: Job 40:6-42:17; Psalm 29

Scripture

The voice of the LORD…

is over the waters; the God of glory thunders, the LORD thunders over the mighty waters.                                       is powerful;                                                                                                                                                                                    is majestic.
breaks the cedars; the LORD breaks in pieces the cedars of Lebanon.
strikes with flashes of lightning.
shakes the desert; the LORD shakes the Desert of Kadesh.
twists the oaks and strips the forests bare. And in his temple all cry, “Glory!” (Psalm 29: 3-5, 7-9)

Observation

When I think of power, I usually think of physical strength, muscles, big car engines, storms, or electricity. Psalm 29 speaks of the power within the voice of the LORD. It is quite impressive!

Application

God spoke all of creation into existence. I have never heard His audible voice, and perhaps that’s a very good thing given its effects! Nevertheless, it is comforting to know that the God we serve controls the universe with His mere voice. Amazing!

Prayer

Awesome God, I have often asked You to speak to me, yet it is Your still, small voice that I seek, for Your full voice would destroy me! I love knowing that my Daddy has so much power and strength! I love You and thank You for Your love for me, completely undeserved, yet deeply appreciated. Someday I will hear Your voice and cry, “Glory!” Until then, thank You for guiding me and speaking to me in constructive ways. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

