Prayer Focus: Europe

Bible Reading: Exodus 1-4

Scripture

Moses said to the Lord, “Pardon your servant, Lord.  I have never been eloquent, neither in the past nor since you have spoken to your servant.  I am slow of speech and tongue. “

The Lord said to him, “Who gave human beings their mouths?  Who makes them deaf or mute?  Who gives them sight or makes them blind?  Is it not I, the Lord?  Now go; I will help you speak and will teach you what to say,” (Exodus 4:10)

Observation

Moses was the lone male survivor of an entire generation of people (as was Jesus).  From infancy, they groomed him as a leader, educated, and trained in how to govern people.  But at some point he became aware of his heritage and the circumstances surrounding the massacre of innocent infants.  So he fled (do you suppose he had a bad case of survivor guilt?) and found comfort in the quiet of the desert (as Jesus’ family did to escape Herod, both of which God used to deliver his people).

God’s Spirit, in the form of a supernatural flame (like he would later use on a bigger scale to lead all of the Israelites by night, and a similar flame that appears at Pentecost), draws Moses off the path.  He identifies himself as the I AM of his ancestors, reminding him of a covenant, he’d made with Abraham, and told him to go back.  I find it interesting that Moses gets the same response from God that Job does, when he tries to argue his case.  He told Job essentially, “Who made the world and all that is in it?”  Moses, after confessing his fears of public speaking and trying to get out from under it, was told, “Who made mans mouth?”

Application

I find comfort in the fact that I can take my case before God, like Moses and Job did.  I find comfort that he will answer and not punish me for being weak and afraid.  This reminds me that He is in control and has a plan.  AND, like he said to Moses, “Go, I will help you and teach you what you need to know”.  (Translation, mine.)  The helping and teaching part happens when we obey and follow.

There had been a long silence from God before Moses came.  Just as there had been a long silence from God before Jesus came.  But, because that flame lives now in our hearts, in the form of the Holy Spirit, we no longer have generational silences.  We have access to the Spirit that helps us and teaches us what we need to know today.

We are still in slavery.  It’s the state we are born in, and it’s why Jesus came, to deliver us from it.  If you have not asked Jesus into your life, to redeem you from the sins that hold you, why haven’t you?  What stands in your way?  Please take the time today to dialogue with God.  We are available too, call the church to set an appointment to talk with someone if you need.  He is our Deliverer.

Prayer

Lord, thank you that I can come to you with my fears and weaknesses.  Thank you for sending the Holy Spirit to speak for us and through us.  Thank you for not giving up on your people, or for giving up on me.  Thank you for delivering me from the bondage of sin, and providing a promised home in heaven.

Amen.

