Prayer Focus: Pacific

Bible Reading: Exodus 10-13

Scripture

During the night Pharaoh summoned Moses and Aaron and said, “Up! Leave my people, you and the Israelites! Go, worship the LORD as you have requested. Take your flocks and herds, as you have said, and go. And also bless me.” (Exodus 12:31-32)

Observation

When God makes a promise, you can count on it! At the end of Exodus 3, He tells Moses that Pharaoh will let the people go…and that they will plunder the Egyptians. It must have been so exhausting and frustrating to confront Pharaoh with warnings and plagues, only to have his heart hardened. This time, he is serious. It took the death of the firstborn to get his full attention. He not only allows them to leave, he tells them to go. Finally, he has the audacity to ask for a personal blessing!

Application

God knows my future as clearly as He knows my past. His promises are true…always. He is trustworthy.

Prayer

Awesome God, I am grateful for the promises that You have made to me. Sometimes I question them, but I always discover them to be true. You never fail. You never forget. Your promises to be with me, to return, and to invite me into Your presence forever bring me tremendous hope and joy, even when the current reality is bleak and challenging. Great is Thy faithfulness! In Jesus’ Name, amen.

