Prayer Focus: Afghanistan

Bible Reading: Exodus 22-24

Scripture

When Moses went and told the people all the LORD’s words and laws, they responded with one voice, “Everything the LORD has said we will do.”

Then he took the Book of the Covenant and read it to the people. They responded, “We will do everything the LORD has said; we will obey.” (Exodus 24:3, 7)

Observation

God gave Adam and Eve one simple command, yet they couldn’t do it. The people of Israel were overwhelmed with the presence and power of God and they promised to obey everything that the LORD said. They failed miserably! If people would simply obey God, their lives and the lives of those around them would be so much better!

Application

I would have eaten the fruit. I would have complained in the desert. I would have disobeyed God. I know this because I disobey Him daily. I cannot even keep from breaking several of the Ten Commandments (in particular the first two)! What a wretch am I!

Prayer

LORD, Your loving commands are so simple, yet my flesh is prone to temptation and sin. Forgive me for judging those in the Bible who made promises to You, yet sinned (in particular the Israelites). Forgive me for making and breaking promises to You. I want to follow You…completely…with everything. Give me the courage, discipline, resolve, passion, focus, and ability to love and obey You with all of my heart, soul, mind, and strength. Thank You for Your grace, mercy and forgiveness when I fail You. Thank You for Your commands that are designed to guide my life, not steal my joy. I love You, LORD, and I know that if I love You, I will keep Your commands (John 14:15). In Jesus’ Name, amen.

