Prayer Focus: Azerbaijan

Bible Reading: Numbers 10-13, Psalm 90

Scripture

For a thousand years in your sight
are like a day that has just gone by,
or like a watch in the night.

The length of our days is seventy years—
or eighty, if we have the strength;
yet their span is but trouble and sorrow,
for they quickly pass, and we fly away.

Teach us to number our days aright,
that we may gain a heart of wisdom. (Psalm 90:4, 10, 12)

Observation

God is clearly beyond time and space. They are merely dimensions that He created. Perspective is everything. Our days often seem long, yet the years fly by. What are seventy or eighty years in light of eternity?

Application

I never want to take a single day for granted. Each one is a unique gift and truly a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to love God and love others. What will happen today? I want to “carpe diem” (“seize the day” in case you missed Dead Poet’s Society!).

Prayer

Creator of time and space, thank You for the precious gift that You have given me, this moment in time, the health and strength to read and write, this 24-hour period that lies ahead of me. There are no guarantees about what will happen today, though You know it as clearly as You know yesterday. It is tremendously comforting to know that Your perspective is far greater than mine. You hold the future. Your will and plan will be fully realized. I want to do today with You, and I invite You to speak and lead and guide me in order to make the most out of today, knowing that it could be my last day on earth. I want to live my life with no regrets. Most of all, I want to hear You say, “Well done, good and faithful servant.” Finally, I pray for a heart of wisdom as Moses requested in Psalm 90. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

