Prayer Focus: Belize, Bermuda

Bible Reading: Deuteronomy 8-11

Scripture

Be careful that you do not forget the LORD your God, failing to observe his commands, his laws and his decrees that I am giving you this day. Otherwise, when you eat and are satisfied, when you build fine houses and settle down, and when your herds and flocks grow large and your silver and gold increase and all you have is multiplied, then your heart will become proud and you will forget the LORD your God, who brought you out of Egypt, out of the land of slavery. (Deuteronomy 8:11-14)

Observation

Although Moses is addressing the nation of Israel, his words are sobering when I reflect upon the state of our nation. There was a day when “in God we trust” meant something beyond an antiquated slogan on the very currency that we worship and trust. We have forgotten the LORD and failed to observe His commands. As our wealth has grown, so has our pride and our forgetfulness of the Source of our blessings. We don’t “need” God—or so we think…and act.

Application

It is so easy for me to become proud of my stuff, believing the lie that “I” earned it, that “I” am in control, and that it’s all about me. Every good and perfect gift is from above (James 1:17), and I am deeply blessed. It’s all about Him.

Prayer

LORD, forgive me for all of the times that I have forgotten You, Your commands, and the blessings that only You provide. Forgive our nation for turning from You and chasing after money, sex and power. God bless America, even though we don’t deserve it. Bless every nation, LORD, and draw all men and women to Yourself. In Jesus’ Name, amen.