Prayer Focus: Bolivia

Bible Reading: Deuteronomy 16-19

Scripture  Each of you must bring a gift in proportion to the way the LORD your God has blessed you.

Do not sacrifice to the LORD your God an ox or a sheep that has any defect or flaw in it, for that would be detestable to him. (Deuteronomy 16:17, 17:1)

Observation  We are called to present a gift to the Lord that is proportional to the blessing that the Lord has given us.  So how exactly are we supposed to do that.  It all belongs to Him, after all he created it all, from the Heavens, the Earth, the Stars… he created us in his image.  So everything, 100% is his blessing to us.  But all he ask from us is our first fruit, our tithe, not because he needs it, its all his already.  But that we can express our love to him, and show that we trust him to provide what we need in the future.

Application  Mark 12:30  says “Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.”   If we follow this, what Jesus called “The Greatest Commandment,” then all else will fall in line.  How many of us (myself included) have given to the Lord the amount that is proportionate to the blessing from the Lord.

Prayer  Dear Lord, Forgive me for not giving you what you desire in the past, help me to be faithful in giving to you the first fruits of your blessing.  Thank you for all you have provided to me, and all that you will provide.  Help me in my weakness to love you with my heart, all my soul, all my mind and all my strength.

