Prayer Focus: Bosnia

Bible Reading: Deuteronomy 24-27

Scripture

When a man is newly married, he shall not go out with the army or be liable for any other public duty. He shall be free at home one year to be happy with his wife whom he has taken. Deuteronomy 24:5 (ESV)

Observation

The heading for this section in the ESV is “Miscellaneous Laws.”  And they are.  They cover the gamut from honeymoons to credit.  Hmm, in retrospect maybe those aren’t so unrelated.

At any rate, it’s that first one that caught my eye and more narrowly it was the word ‘happy.’

While it’s true that women were often relegated to a second class position (and in some cases that’s being generous) in those days, we still have standout statements like this one.  “Be happy with your wife.”  Just the wording of that whole sentence with phrases like “free at home”, “happy with his wife”, is pause-worthy.

Application

When Adam first saw Eve he was so moved by her that he said, “This at last is bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh, she shall be called woman because she was taken out of man.”  Genesis 2:23.  After a long search and a divine pause (it was the only time God said his creation was not good, because man did not have a proper companion) the man finally had his woman.  Not to control, or dominate, or relegate to some hidden place, but to be his partner, part of him.  To be with her is to be free and happy.

Prayer

Lord, may I never take my wife for granted.  May I never treat her like a “ball and chain.”  May I never make demeaning comments about her to the guys.  May I always treat her like the treasure that she is, because she is a gift that You have given me.  Amen.

