Prayer Focus: Brazil

Bible Reading: Joshua 1-2; Psalm 105

Scripture

When we heard of it, our hearts melted in fear and everyone’s courage failed because of you, for the Lord your God is God in heaven above and on the earth below. (Joshua 2:11)

Observation

In the first chapter of our reading God had just told Joshua “to be strong and courageous”.  He repeated it again in the next verse, “to be strong and VERY courageous”.  He had a plan and Joshua was the man he was going to use to complete it.

Then here in the second chapter, we see courage from the enemy failing.  This section of scripture, is from the exchange the spies Joshua sent out had with Rahab, who told them the state of morale with her own people after hearing what God had done on the Israelites behalf.  I find it interesting that it hadn’t failed in the heat of battle, after viewing the array of physical power against them, but from the might of things God had already done.  The reputation their God had made for himself, the stories people told, the fact of His presence there in the midst of His chosen people made the hearts of the citizens of  Jericho “melt in fear”.  These people had lost the battle before it ever arrived at their doorstep!

Application

How many opportunities have I failed because I didn’t remember what God has already done in my life, in the lives of others, and on the cross?

How many times have I let my fear rule over my circumstances, tying the hands of God to work through me because I didn’t have the courage to stand up, stand out or stand aside when He needed me to?

Rahab said that our God is the “God in heaven above and on the earth below”.  He wasn’t a dead idol of wood or stone, he wasn’t a vague or impersonal force that stays up in heaven.  His presence was WITH them.  And it made all the difference.

Prayer

Father, I pray for courage.  Courage that is full of your presence in my circumstances and situations.  Courage that trusts.

I confess my fears and doubts to you.  In the quietness of my heart I will name them and pluck their teeth.  You have called me to obey and to follow, even through the scary stuff I want to run from.  I repent of the head games I play with myself – the ones that lie and say that life with you will be easy, conflict free.

Instead, I will lean heavy on you, and trust my finances, my children and my life to you, knowing that in return your presence fills me with a peace and joy that is not connected to my struggles, but to you.

I pray that your presence inside me makes the difference.

