Prayer Focus: Burundi

Bible Reading: Joshua 23-24; Judges 1

Scripture

Adoni-bezek fled, but they chased him and caught him, and cut off his thumbs and big toes.

Then Adoni-bezek said, “Seventy kings with their thumbs and big toes cut off have picked up scraps under my table. Now God has paid me back  for what I did to them.” They brought him to Jerusalem, and he died there. (Judges 1:6-7)

Observation

The removal of thumbs and big toes sounds unusual in our culture, but it was a common way to make a prisoner of war incapable of military service. What is amazing to me is not that Adoni-bezek is cut, but that he recognizes it is God’s just payback for how he treated others.

Application

These two short and peculiar verses remind me of God’s justice. He will one day right every wrong. We will all be judged. In addition, there are often earthly consequences to our actions. The old expression “what goes around comes around” is frequently true.

Prayer

Awesome God, I am so grateful for Your grace. I would be hopeless if You truly “paid me back” for everything I have done in thought, word and deed to others. I realize my actions have ramifications for my present life, but I’m glad Jesus paid for my sins and reconciled me to the Father. I love grace! In Jesus’ Name, amen.

