Prayer Focus: Cameroon

Bible Reading: Judges 6-9

Scripture

The LORD said to Gideon, “You have too many men. I cannot deliver Midian into their hands, or Israel would boast against me, ‘My own strength  has saved me.’ (Judges 7:2)

Observation

Gideon began with an army of 32,000 warriors. God whittled it down to 300 after repeatedly telling Gideon that he had too many men. Why? Clearly God wanted to get the credit. One plus God equals a majority!

Application

It was ridiculous to think that Gideon could win with 32,000 men, much less 300, but God didn’t want Gideon or his soldiers to take credit for the victory. The battle belongs to the LORD! This is still true today. When we are weak, He is strong and receives the credit. If He calls us to do something that we are capable of doing, it’s probably not the LORD! He has a habit of asking us to do the impossible, of calling us out of our comfort zones into something truly exciting, dangerous, and beyond our abilities…so that we fully rely on Him and allow Him to get the glory.

Prayer

Awesome God, You are truly awesome. There is none like You. The demonstration of Your presence and power is clear throughout the pages of Scripture, including this remarkable story of Gideon. Help me get beyond my own limitations and excuses and give me the faith and courage to boldly pursue whatever vision You put before me, regardless of conventional wisdom. I specifically pray, LORD, that You would use the modest numbers at Scio Community Church to “send disciples to bless the nations,” making an impact around the globe for Your glory. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

