Prayer Focus: Cape Verde Is, Cayman Is

Bible Reading: Ruth 1-4

Scripture

One day Ruth’s mother-in-law Naomi said to her, “My daughter, I must find a home for you, where you will be well provided for. Now Boaz, with whose women you have worked, is a relative of ours. Tonight he will be winnowing barley on the threshing floor. Wash, put on perfume, and get dressed in your best clothes. Then go down to the threshing floor, but don’t let him know you are there until he has finished eating and drinking. When he lies down, note the place where he is lying. Then go and uncover his feet and lie down. He will tell you what to do.” (Ruth 3:1-4)

Observation

Naomi had good intentions, wanting to get Ruth married and protected and provided for, but she gave some horrible advice.  The advice she gives in the passage above puts Ruth in a compromising position in a public venue!  What was Naomi thinking?  The whole village had been talking about Ruth’s noble character and devotion, how her behavior brought honor to Naomi, and she sends her here to Boaz in the dark of night, sneaking under his blankets?

Ruth does what her mother in law requests of her though.  And when Boaz awakens and questions her, she doesn’t try to compromise him further, nor does she try to seduce him.  She simply asks him to protect her, provide for her by being her kinsman redeemer; to marry her.  Her simple honesty of her need, the humbleness of her approach without artifice, touched him in a way that seduction might not have (based on the nature of the praise he gave her).

Doing what she asked would come at a price to him.  In agreeing to provide for these women, it meant that he would buy the land that belonged to Naomi’s husband.  The first son would be given to Naomi to raise, as he’d be recognized as a child of her husbands line, and that child would then in turn inherit the land he’d just invested in.

Application

How often have I had good intentions, but gone about it the wrong way?  How often have I given practical, but ungodly advice?

Prayer

Father, I ask for your forgiveness for the times I’ve let my good intentions justify my bad behavior.  I pray that you show me the places I can make amends.  Father, I also thank you for being my kinsman redeemer, the one who loved me so much that he was willing to pay the cost for my sin.  Thank you for providing me a place with you.

Amen

