Prayer Focus: China, PRC

Bible Reading: 1 Samuel 17-20; Psalm 59

Scripture

David said to the Philistine, “You come against me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come against you in the name of the LORD Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. This day the LORD will deliver  you into my hands, and I’ll strike you down and cut off your head. This very day I will give the carcasses  of the Philistine army to the birds and the wild animals, and the whole world  will know that there is a God in Israel. All those gathered here will know that it is not by sword  or spear that the LORD saves;  for the battle  is the LORD’s, and he will give all of you into our hands.” (1 Samuel 17:45-47)

Observation

Who doesn’t like this story? Even the secular world refers to underdogs as “David and Goliath.” It wasn’t David’s strength and skill that won the day, however. It was his faith in God, his passion for the LORD’s honor and reputation (not that He needed David to manage His reputation!). Despite the audacious accusations of his brothers, it was not his glory that he was seeking, but the LORD’s.

Application

It would be exciting to be in such an underdog position and represent the Almighty. It would be incredible to have the confidence of David, not merely killing Goliath, but predicting the details before they occur. The reality is that God doesn’t need me to defend Him. He doesn’t need me to evangelize. He doesn’t need me to do anything, but He invites me into not only relationship with Himself, but also to “go fish” and re-present Him to planet earth. It is truly an honor to serve the LORD.

Prayer

Awesome God, I am so grateful that You call me Your son. You are my King! It is an honor to know and serve You. Please lead and guide me, showing me when/where/how I can bring glory to You and Your Name and fame. I’m not worthy to do so, yet I desire to faithfully obey You, wherever, whenever. Not my will, but yours be done. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

