Prayer Focus: China, PRC

Bible Reading: 1 Chronicles 1-2, Psalm 43-44

Photo taken and edited by Cliff

Rise up; come to our help! Redeem us for the sake of your steadfast love! Psalm 44:26

Observation

This Psalm would not rise to the top of a church band’s playlist.  Essentially, the psalm says that God once performed great deeds for His people, but now He has rejected them.  The psalmist, like Job, claims they have done nothing wrong, that they have remained faithful and yet God has still turned His back on them.  The nation is in crisis and if we are to take the Psalmist at face value it sounds like it’s God’s fault because He won’t come their aid.

Psalm 43 also asks, “Why have you rejected me?”  But it ends with the praise that salvation comes from God.

Application

The Bible does not paint a rosy picture of God’s people and in this case not even of God Himself.  I read this Psalm and I just keep asking, “Why?”  Why did God not help His people?  Why, back in Judges, was Israelite going to war with Israelite?  But then we could also ask, why do Christians beat up Christians today?  I could very easily take this Psalm and apply it to my own life.  Why has God allowed X, Y, and Z to happen?  Why doesn’t He just come in and fix it?  I’ve been faithful.

Haven’t I?

What I’ve done that would cause God to not help me?

Maybe I should stop there, before the lightning hits me.

A couple things I would take from these Psalms: God has big shoulders and if we need to vent, even about Him, He can take it.  But always note the focus; in both cases the Psalmist might be questioning God, but they turn to Him for the answer.  It’s okay to get mad at God, but remember, He’s God.  If you get mad at God and walk away you’re just being childish.  But if you get mad at God and wait for Him to answer, you’re maturing.

Prayer

Dear Lord, there’s a lot of questions that go unanswered and I’m starting to think they go unanswered because they’re distracting me from what I really need to focus on right now.  Remove the distractions for me so that I can focus more clearly on what it is that You deem important for me to learn right now.  And I pray that I always look to You for the answers.  Amen.

