Prayer Focus: Congo-DRC

Bible Reading: Psalms 89:96:100:101:107

Scripture

Sing to the Lord a new song; sing to the Lord, all the earth. Sing to the Lord, praise his name;
proclaim his salvation day after day. Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous deeds among all peoples. (Psalm 96 1-3)

Observation

As I read the opening verses of all our selections today I couldn’t help but smile in response to the praises. Follow with me here: “With my mouth will I make known your faithfulness to all generations” in Psalm 89, “Shouting for Joy” in Psalm 100, “I will sing praise” in Psalm 101, “Give thanks to the Lord – his love endures forever” in Psalm 107

Application
What a wonderful way to start the morning, don’t you think? I want to draw your attention to the 96th Psalm though, this one tells us to “sing to the Lord a new song.” I wondered about that for a while. Why a new one? Why not an old one? Why not an old trusted and true song that doesn’t leave room for error? One that he could tell us the words to so that we’d get it right and not risk misinterpreting his actions or intent?

I think it goes back to the fact that God made us in his image. He is the Creator God who spoke the world into being with words. He made New Words, for new things. Words set to music because our spirits open up for praise when we sing, it’s a conditioned form of worship. New Songs for new generations who seek him. New Songs for new things he’s made of us, and as a way to tell of the new things he does in our lives.

Prayer

Lord, today I ask you to show me the NEW thing you are doing in my life. For fun, today I will set that new thing into a rhyme, a tune to help me remember this thing you’ve done. It will be a love song between you and me that I can hum and hold close to my heart. I thank you for being the Creator God, who made something new out of me! I rejoice with the pleasure of being your child.
Amen!

