Prayer Focus: Cook Islands

Bible Reading: 2 Samuel 8-9; 1 Chronicles 18

Scripture

David reigned over all Israel, doing what was just and right for all his people. (2 Samuel 8:15; 1 Chronicles 18:14)

Observation

These parallel passages summarize King David’s rule in Israel. He was a truly good king, benevolent and concerned more about “loving God and loving his neighbor” than selfishly taking advantage of his authority and power as had been done by his predecessor, Saul.

Application

Power corrupts, but David is an example of godliness in action. Sure, he wasn’t perfect, but he was a “man after God’s own heart” and cared for the people he led, too. I have often been afraid of success, concerned that I might let pride overtake any godly inclinations I might possess. It is possible to be just and right when following the LORD.

Prayer

Great God and King, I long to be a man after your own heart. Though I have no kingdom to rule (except, perhaps, my home…if that is considered a kingdom!), I do have influence over others. I never want my leadership to negative influence others, and I certainly want You to always get the credit, honor, glory, praise, and recognition for anything good in or through my broken life. I want to always do what is just and right for sake of others and, most of all, for Your sake, LORD. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

