Prayer Focus: Cote d’Ivoire

Bible Reading: 2 Samuel 11-12; 1 Chronicles 20; Psalm 51

Scripture

Have mercy on me, O God, according to your unfailing love; according to your great compassion blot out my transgressions. Wash away all my iniquity and cleanse  me from my sin.

Create in me a pure heart,  O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. (Psalm 51:1-2, 10)

Observation

David has committed one of the most disgraceful series of sins recorded in the Bible. His transgressions included lust, adultery (possibly rape), murder, and deceit. The “man after God’s own heart” had quite a moral failure. It is no wonder that he pleads for mercy, yet he does not merely acknowledge his sins in confession; he is repentant and seeks to truly turn from his wicked ways.

Application

It is so easy to judge David for his wretched acts, yet I am capable of doing far worse. But by the grace of God so go I. Though I strive for perfection and holiness, the reality is that I fail. I do fall short. I am a sinner in need of mercy, grace and forgiveness. The Good News is that we do not have to hope for God’s cleansing. Just did it on the cross. Hallelujah!

Prayer

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Thank You for the cross. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

