Prayer Focus: Cote d’lvoire

Bible Reading: Psalm 23, 86, 102, 103, 122

Scripture:

He does not treat us as our sins deserve
or repay us according to our iniquities.

For as high as the heavens are above the earth,
so great is his love for those who fear him;

(Psalm 103:10-11)

Observation:

I have seen family dynamics where every offense is brought up time and again, used to grind each other down, win arguments and jockey for the upper hand.  The atmosphere is critical and it’s risky to let your guard down in that environment.

We are human.  We are going to fail one another.  That’s just part of  life, part of the fallen condition we are in.

But God shows us how to break out of that cycle!  When we have been forgiven, it causes us to want to forgive too.  When we treat others with the same grace we’ve been given, then winning the arguments aren’t nearly as important as winning the relationships.

Application:

1st Peter 4:8 says to “Love each other deeply, for love covers a multitude of sins.”  Today I will look at my relationships in the light of  His grace, and remember to treat the people around me gently.  I will pray for them (and my attitude!) when offended,I will seek ways to show God’s love.  Let’s face it, life is messy.  When we rub each other the wrong way, sparks can fly!  If it’s true that the only bible some people will ever read is how I conduct my life, I want them to see you!

Prayer:

Lord, help me take every thought captive!  Help me surrender my gut reactions to you, so that by my words, deeds and body language, I can communicate your loving kindness to the world.

