Prayer Focus: Dominica, Dominican Republic

Bible Reading: 2 Samuel 19-21; Psalms 5; 38; 42

Scripture

As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God.

My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?

Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.

(Psalm 42:1, 2, 5)

Observation

The descendents of Korah (who wrote this psalm) had great concern for their soul. They were conscious of its condition. Throughout the psalm, there is a tension between discouragement and hope, passion and praise.

Application

I find this psalm encouraging because I have moment when I desperately want God, and others when I sadly ignore Him. There are times when I am discouraged and filled with fear, yet others when I am hopeful—not in mere hope, but in God. It is a reminder to me that throughout the ups and downs of life, God is faithful, powerful, available, and near. He is worthy of our praise. Hallelujah!

Prayer

LORD and King, I want to have a deeper passion for You, one that is unquenchable without Your presence. I want to want You more, a consuming devotion that makes all other desires, emotions, and dreams pale in comparison. Even now at this moment as there are many concerns on my mind and burdens on my heart, yet I will praise You, my Savior and my God. I love You, LORD!

