Prayer Focus: El Salvador

Bible Reading: 2 Samuel 24, 1 Chronicles 21-22, Psalm 30

Scripture

But the king replied to Araunah, “No, I insist on paying you for it. I will not sacrifice to the LORD my God burnt offerings that cost me nothing.”

So David bought the threshing floor and the oxen and paid fifty shekels    of silver for them.  (2 Samuel 24:24)

Observation

Araunah the Jebusite had a threshing floor. King David was commanded to build an altar there. Whether out of duty or desire (or both), Araunah offers to give it to the king along with oxen and wood for the sacrifice. Rather than accept the free gift, David insists on paying. He recognized he could not sacrifice something to God that did not cost him anything.

Application

I love bargains. Free is even better! I pursue sales, short cuts, and anything that will reduce the time or money that I need to spend. Needless to say, I would’ve been tempted to accept Araunah’s offer, especially if I was the king! There’s a great lesson here, though, that I need to heed. God deserves our best. It is not what we offer God so much as who we offer to God—a lukewarm acquaintance or a passionate, fully-devoted follower. I want to always be the latter, willing to sacrifice at all times for my King who surrendered everything for me on the cross.

Prayer

Jesus, I thank You that You were willing to pay the price for me. Forgive me for wanting to do the bare minimum to “get by” rather than seeking ways to go above and beyond in love, gratitude, and service to You, my King. In Your powerful Name, amen.

