Prayer Focus: Germany

Bible Reading: Proverbs 13-16

Scripture

Gray hair is a crown of splendor; it is attained in the way of righteousness. (Proverbs 16:31)

Observation

There are countless truths that can be extracted from today’s reading, but this one verse stands out among them, unique and unusual. This is not saying that one’s hair color is, in and of itself, what is important, but rather the process of growing and aging and, presumably, learning. The elderly in most societies (ours is an exception) are held in high esteem, and rightfully so. They have experience, perseverance, and usually wisdom.

Application

I am frequently reminded at how my hair is graying. This is bittersweet. On the one hand, I want to look and feel youthful. On the other hand, I want to obtain wisdom and understanding that can only come from experience. Oh that the gray on my head would truly indicate righteousness…and that I would be a blessing to others, sharing the lessons I have learned with future generations.

Prayer

LORD, I must admit that sometimes I don’t like getting gray…or old. I honestly don’t feel old, but each day I get further from my youth and closer to the grave. I pray that You would fill me with wisdom, understanding, and righteousness that I may love and serve others, add value to their lives, and honor You. I ask You, also, to preserve my energy and health that I may live with passion, vigor, and joy. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

