Prayer Focus: Guinea

Bible Reading: Proverbs 27-29

Scripture – He who gives to the poor will lack nothing, but he who closes his eyes to them receives many curses.  Prov 28:27

Observation – These chapters in Proverbs are full of what my Bible calls “Warnings and Instructions.”  Most deal with the importance of being faithful and true and doing what is right, and what befalls them that are not wise in their judgement and conduct.  This particular Proverb reminds us that it is truly more blessed to give than receive.  I think of the sheep and the goats of Mat 25.

35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

Jesus wants us to take care of his sheep…. No…. He expects us to!

Application –  We need as a church body to get out and serve the sheep and help to lead them to Jesus.  We need to look for ways every day to reach out to the those that are lost.    Challenge your self to be intentional to share a moment, share a lunch, or share an evening in an activity that will allow you to serve the lost.  The world is not the enemy, but rather as Jesus saw them… lost and harassed.   Another analogy that helped me to get things in perspective, they are not the enemy, more like prisoners of war that have been deceived by their captor.

Prayer –  Lord, help us to have a heart for your sheep that are lost.  Help us to reach out in love to these prisoners of war …. and help us to set the captives free… Amen

