Prayer Focus: Haiti

Bible Reading: 1 Kings 10-11; 2 Chronicles 9; Proverbs 30-31

Scripture

Keep falsehood and lies far from me; give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread. Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you and say, ‘Who is the Lord?’ Or I may become poor and steal, and so dishonor the name of my God. (Proverbs 30:8-9)

Observation

Every time I read this Proverb I am astonished with the wisdom within. While tempted to seek riches, they diminish the need for God. Poverty can lead to an obsession with survival.

Application

I find myself judging both the poor (they should work harder) and the rich (they should be more generous). It’s easy to compare myself to others, yet I am reminded by this text that I need to depend upon God for daily bread. One day at a time. I need not worry about tomorrow.

Prayer

Forgive me, LORD, for judging and comparing. I am content and grateful…and want to remain that way! Thank You for providing so faithfully, year after year. Our family never seems to have need or abundance…just enough. Give us this day our daily bread (though I know there is at least a week’s worth of food in our pantry). Keep me on my knees, dependent on You, yet confident in Your ability to provide. Keep me from worry and fear, trusting You and You alone. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

