Prayer Focus: India

Bible Reading: 1 Kings 20-21

Scripture
When Ahab heard these words, he tore his clothes, put on sackcloth and fasted. He lay in sackcloth and went around meekly. Then the word of the LORD came to Elijah the Tishbite: “Have you noticed how Ahab has humbled himself before me? Because he has humbled himself, I will not bring this disaster in his day, but I will bring it on his house in the days of his son.” (1 Kings 21:27-29)

Observation
God knows our heart. We can look good on the outside, yet our hearts can be filled with pride and evil. In this story, King Ahab realized his awful fate and repented. God carried out His wrath and justice, but postponed it due to Ahab’s humility.

Application
There is a great lesson here. God listens to our confessions and responds to our cries for mercy if we are sincere. There is always hope for the broken, forgiveness for the repentant, and grace for the sinner. Praise God!

Prayer
LORD, I am truly sorry for the countless ways I have sinned against You. I am also deeply grateful for Your grace, mercy, love, and forgiveness. You know everything about me, including my heart. Create in me a clean, pure, godly heart, LORD. May I be humble and desperate for You always. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

