Prayer Focus: India

Bible Reading: 2 Kings 8:16-29; 2 Chronicles 21:1-22:9

Scripture

Jehoram was thirty-two years old when he became king, and he reigned in Jerusalem eight years. He passed away, to no one’s regret, and was buried in the City of David, but not in the tombs of the kings. (2 Chronicles 21:20)

Observation

Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely. Jehoram ruled for eight years, yet “no one was sorry when he died” (to quote the New Living Translation). He was not even buried in the royal cemetery. What a tragic waste of a life.

Application

I certainly hope people are sorry when I die! This text is a reminder that we must be good stewards of the resources and opportunities that we have been given, whether they be a royal throne, a family, a career, or talents. Ultimately, our success is determined not by the comments at our funeral, but Judgment Day before the Almighty.

Prayer

LORD, I want to honor You with my time, talents, and treasures. I know that each day is a gift. Each conversation is an opportunity to share You with others. You give and take away, and everything that has been given to us can be removed…except Your love. Once again I pray for wisdom and a heart of understanding as I lead Scio, my family, and myself. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

