Prayer Focus: India

Bible Reading: Amos 6-9

Scripture

Then Amaziah said to Amos, “Get out, you seer! Go back to the land of Judah. Earn your bread there and do your prophesying there.

Amos answered Amaziah, “I was neither a prophet nor the son of a prophet, but I was a shepherd, and I also took care of sycamore-fig trees. But the LORD took me from tending the flock and said to me, ‘Go, prophesy to my people Israel.’ (Amos 7:12, 14-15)

Observation

Amos was an ordinary shepherd, yet he was used by God in a powerful, prophetic way.

Application

Our culture tragically places “professional Christians” on a pedestal. God can and does use clergy and laity, educated and uneducated, rich and poor to accomplish His purposes on planet earth. The key is to obediently follow Jesus…wherever He leads you.

Prayer

LORD, I am grateful for the calling I have received from You. It extends far beyond my “professional” duties as a vocational pastor. I am grateful for the calling You have on both clergy and laity. May we all seek to obediently follow You and Your calling at all times and never envy the calling of others. Forgive me for comparing myself and my calling to others. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

