Prayer Focus: Indonesia

Bible Reading: Isaiah 5-8

Scripture  

 “Woe to me!” I cried. “I am ruined! For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty.” Then one of the seraphim flew to me with a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with tongs from the altar. With it he touched my mouth and said, “See, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away and your sin atoned for. ” Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us? ”  And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”  He said, “Go and tell this people:

“‘Be ever hearing, but never understanding;    be ever seeing, but never perceiving.’  Make the heart of this people calloused;  make their ears dull    and close their eyes.   Otherwise they might see with their eyes, hear with their ears,  understand with their hearts, and turn and be healed.”

Observation –  I love …. and hate…. the book of Isaiah.  It is both beautiful and intriguing  as well as terrifying and damning.  In this particular vision of Isaiah, he finds himself in the company of angels and in the presence of God himself.  He suddenly realizes the sin and filth that sticks to him and that in the presence of God, he doesn’t deserve to be there, he is not worthy.

Afterward, the Lord asked for volunteers to spread the word.  But unlike Mat 28:16-20, this commission realizes that Israel will not hear, will not see, will not understand …. and will not be spared from the devastation to come.

But even with that prophetic doom setting on the table,  in Chapter 7 comes the prediction of a Virgin Birth, the promise of Immanuel, and  our salvation.  And with that comes the Great Commission of Mat 28, that compels us to spread the Good News, that Jesus is the Lord.

Application –  We need to realize that without the grace of Jesus, we are unclean and unworthy to see God.  Then, we need to step up and say, “Here am I, Lord, send me!!!”  and “Go…” where the Lord leads.

Prayer –  Thank you Lord for giving us your servant Isaiah.  Thank you for providing us with his vision of You.  Thank you for allowing us to become worthy through the atoning blood of your son….  Help us to be about your work to all nations.  Help us to Go!!

