Prayer Focus: Italy

Bible Reading: Isaiah 40-42; Psalm 46

Scripture

Do you not know?
Have you not heard?
The LORD is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
and his understanding no one can fathom.
He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.
Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;
but those who hope in the LORD
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint. (Isaiah 40:28-31)

Observation

Our God is awesome. He is omnipotent…all-powerful. He does not hoard His power, but provides it to those “who hope in the LORD.” He never grows weary. He is never sick. He never misses our prayers or fails us in any way. What a mighty God we serve!

Application

This week marks the beginning of the XXX Olympic Games in London. Some of the strongest men and women in the world will compete before the eyes of men, women and children around the globe.

The weak are rarely thrust into the spotlight. The tired are not admired. There is, however, help available to those who hope in the LORD. Whether we are physically, spiritually, emotionally, financially, or mentally weak, God is able to provide the strength we need to not only survive, but thrive. What a promise!

Prayer

LORD, I am so weak. My body is aging, my mind is slipping, my wisdom is limited, my emotions are weary, and my spirit longs for more of You. Although this passage was not written to me, I’m grateful for the encouragement and hope that they offer. Thank You for being truly awesome and desiring a relationship with me. I’m so unworthy but grateful. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

