Prayer Focus: Jamaica

Bible Reading: Isaiah 43-45; Psalm 80

Scripture

“What sorrow awaits those who argue with their Creator.
Does a clay pot argue with its maker?
Does the clay dispute with the one who shapes it, saying, ‘Stop, you’re doing it wrong!’
Does the pot exclaim, ‘How clumsy can you be?’

How terrible it would be if a newborn baby said to its father, ‘Why was I born?’
or if it said to its mother,  ‘Why did you make me this way?’”

This is what the LORD says—the Holy One of Israel and your Creator:
“Do you question what I do for my children? Do you give me orders about the work of my hands?

I am the one who made the earth and created people to live on it.
With my hands I stretched out the heavens.  All the stars are at my command. (Isaiah 45:9-12 NLT)

Observation

In these passages (Isaiah 43-45) God is speaking through Isaiah about the sin of Israel, the God of Israel, the idolatry of Israel, the redemption of Israel, and in Psalm 80 it’s the people crying out to the Lord for restoration.

If the Isaiah 45:9-12 passage is a good indicator than it sounds like the people of Israel, like children, spent more time arguing about what was wrong than doing what was right.

Application

God speaks to His people Israel in this passage like a parent to a child asking, “Who do you think you are?”

Are we really going to argue with someone who has the stars at their command?

Are we really going to try and tell God what to do, or how to do it?

We are finite creatures with little understanding.  Sure we have the World Wide Web and we think that means that we have access to so much knowledge, but in reality it’s just so much opinion through the eyes of other finite creatures.  Only God sees the total picture as it is now, as it was, and only He knows how it all turns out.

Do we wrestle with God for understanding?  Absolutely.  But does the finite counsel the infinite?  The question even sounds silly.

Prayer

Lord, I’ve questioned you more times than I can count.  Forgive me for not trusting You.  Teach me to depend on You for all things, to see the world through Your eyes, and to have confidence in the grace You offer through the death and resurrection of Jesus.  Amen.

Restore us, O Lord God of hosts!  Let your face shine, that we may be saved!  (Psalm 80:19 ESV)

