Prayer Focus: Kazakhstan

Bible Reading: Isaiah 64-66

Scripture

I revealed myself to those who did not ask for me;
I was found by those who did not seek me.
To a nation that did not call on my name,
I said, ‘Here am I, here am I.’ (Isaiah 65:1)

Observation

I cannot imagine the broken heart of a rejected Father whose children have forgotten Him. He is not forceful, but pursues those He loves.

Application

It’s quite sad to read this verse and those that follow, especially as a dad myself. Although not written to us and our nation, it is certainly descriptive of our land. Oh that we would respond to His call, be obedient to His commands, and receive His invitation to experience abundant life, not in goods and services, but in Him.

Prayer

LORD, once again I ask for Your forgiveness for the countless times I have forgotten You. I take matters into my own hands. I worry. I fear. I want power and control. I want to do things my way. I ignore Your commands, Your wisdom, Your voice. Although my actions betray me, my heart never wants to reject or forget You. Instead I want to immediately respond in obedience to Your Word and will. I pray for our nation, too, that we would return to You, seeking holiness and godliness rather than politically correct so-called tolerance that tolerates everything but You and Your ways. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

