Prayer Focus: Kazakhstan

Bible Reading: 2 Kings 21; 2 Chronicles 33

Scripture

9 But Manasseh led the people of Judah and Jerusalem to do even more evil than the pagan nations that the LORD had destroyed when the people of Israel entered the land.
10 The LORD spoke to Manasseh and his people, but they ignored all his warnings.11 So the LORD sent the commanders of the Assyrian armies, and they took Manasseh prisoner. They put a ring through his nose, bound him in bronze chains, and led him away to Babylon.12 But while in deep distress, Manasseh sought the LORD his God and sincerely humbled himself before the God of his ancestors. (2 Chronicles 33:9-12 ESV)

Observation

Manasseh was an evil king.  Not just bad, he was evil.  He was worse than the pagan nations that God destroyed.  He even sacrificed his own son in a fire to a pagan god.  God sent him warning after warning, but Manasseh refused to listen.  It wasn’t until Manasseh lost everything and found himself a prisoner and slave to a foreign King that he finally bowed his head and repented.  Unfortunately, Manasseh’s son Amon didn’t do the same.

Application

What does it take to get you to listen to the Lord?  It’s so easy to go on about our own way thinking that everything is fine because the Lord is patient.  He sends us warning after warning and we think we’re safe and we’ll deal with that later because God is patient and He’ll understand.  What happens when God’s patience runs out?  It does run out, you know.  Will you wait until you lose everything?  Will you repent because you realized you were wrong, or just because you got caught?

I can see Manasseh sitting in a dirty cell, stripped of all the royal trappings and his stomach growing, and that still small voice speaking out of the darkness to him, “Manasseh.  Can you hear me now?”

Prayer

Lord, I know there is sin in my life that I haven’t addressed.  I pray that my heart will be open to your call and I will be humble before you.  While I want to remove those things that keep me from wholly serving you I pray that it happens willingly and not because you need to discipline me.  I also pray for the Church.  Revive us and show us how to be a light to the world and share your good news.  Humble us gently, Lord.

