Prayer Focus: Kenya, Kiribati

Bible Reading: Zephaniah 1-3

Scripture

Seek the LORD, all you humble of the land, you who do what he commands. Seek righteousness, seek humility; perhaps you will be sheltered on the day of the LORD’s anger. (Zephaniah 2:3)

Observation

Jesus echoed the idea of this verse when He famously said to seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well (Matthew 6:33). Perhaps the only thing to satisfy the LORD’s anger is obedient, humble pursuers of Him.

Application

The LORD cannot possibly be pleased with our nation at this hour in history. This verse gives me hope that although He may be angry, shelter is possible. Pride has been called the root of all sin. It was Lucifer’s downfall. Humility is the opposite. The Scriptures are filled with commands to humble ourselves. It is a daily challenge.

Prayer

LORD, I want to know You more. I want to want You. I realize I am but dust, weak, sinful, proud, and so short of Your holy and perfect standard. I also recognize how wicked our land has become, deserving of wrath, judgment and punishment. Have mercy, LORD. Draw us back to You. I am earnestly seeking You, Your wisdom, and Your will. Awaken others who will do the same, bring honor to Your Name, and glorify You. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

