Some 80% of Kuwaitis do not know Christ and many do not even have the Bible in their language. Pray for the gospel of Jesus Christ to reach all of Kuwait.

Prayer Focus: Kuwait

Bible Reading: Jeremiah 1-4

Scripture

“I thought to myself,
‘I would love to treat you as my own children!’
I wanted nothing more than to give you this beautiful land—
the finest possession in the world.
I looked forward to your calling me ‘Father,’
and I wanted you never to turn from me.  But you have been unfaithful to me, you people of Israel!
You have been like a faithless wife who leaves her husband.
I, the LORD, have spoken.”  Jeremiah 3:19-20

Observation

Israel is about to go into a 70 years of exile.  Jeremiah is called by God and begins preaching to Israel at a time when Israel is living in peace.  When Jeremiah started preaching about the coming destruction and exile to Babylon the people probably thought he was crazy.  Yet, he preached to people and wept over the people and warned them about all that they were doing in rebellion of the Lord.

This statement by God shows the anguish God faced with Israel.  He had done everything for His people, but they rebelled again and again until God just let them go.  If Israel didn’t want God to be their God, He wasn’t going to force them.

Application

God still calls to us and offers us His grace, mercy and salvation through the crucifixion and resurrection of Jesus Christ.  He will call to us again and again, but He will not force us to turn to Him.  If we want to continue in our rebellion He’ll let us, but He warns us that there is only death and hell in that direction.

Prayer

Lord, how I am desperate to get through the dark days of Jeremiah and the prophets and get to the parables of the gospels.  May Your call be heard and sinners respond so that more will be saved.  Amen!

