Prayer Focus: Kyrgyzstan

Bible Reading: Jeremiah 5-8

Scripture

…but I gave them this command: Obey me, and I will be your God and you will be my people. Walk in obedience to all I command you, that it may go well with you. But they did not listen or pay attention; instead, they followed the stubborn inclinations of their evil hearts. They went backward and not forward. (Jeremiah 7:23-24)

Observation

God’s command is simple—though not easy: obey. Loving God means obeying Him. It’s more than words or good intentions, but obedience. Don’t we all want to be God’s people? Apparently not. Day after day we read of the consequences of disobedience, often with a unique image or metaphor. This one is no exception: they went backward and not forward. This could’ve been written today rather than thousands of years ago! We seem to be going backward in virtually every area of society…all in the name of progress!

Application

I want to obey the LORD. I need to obey the LORD…if I am to move forward rather than backward. Obedience to God is real progress.

Prayer

LORD, I urge You to have mercy and reverse our course. Draw us back to You. I realize so many of my prayers have been similar, yet each of these prophetic passages seems as relevant today as when it was written. I love You, LORD, and want to obey…always. Forgive me for the countless times I fail. Thank You for grace. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

