Prayer Focus: Laos

Bible Reading: Jeremiah 9-12

Scripture:

Oh that my head were waters and my eyes a fountain of tears, that I might weep day and night for the slain of the daughter of my people!  (Jer 9:1)
“Everyone deceives his neighbor and does not speak the truth, they have taught their tongue to speak lies; they weary themselves committing iniquity. Your dwelling is in the midst of deceit; through deceit they refuse to know Me,” declares the Lord. (Jer 9:5-6)
For the mountains I will take up a weeping and wailing, and for the pastures of the wilderness a dirge, because they are laid waste so that no one passes through, and the lowing of the cattle is not heard; both the birds of the sky and the beasts have fled; they are gone. I will make Jerusalem a heap of ruins, a haunt of jackals; and I will make the cities of Judah a desolation without inhabitant.” (Jer 9:10-11)

Observation:

This post could easily have been labeled weeping, or deceit, the pages of Jeremiah are full of both. The thing that tugged at my heart as I read over this passage was the despair that seemed to emanate from God. Desolate, among other things, means joyless, disconsolate, and sorrowful through or as if through separation from a loved one.
What I see screaming from this text is a heart wrenching cry from the Creator of Life. Not only is his own creation rejecting Him – they are doing so blinded and deceived to all they are giving up by refusing to follow and obey God. As we walk this road with Jeremiah and read His words, we ought to weep with them over the lost and deceived, those given over to their own stubbornness and exiled to a land without hope, governed by lies.

Application:

How often do we weep for the lost? Not just those in our own families, but for the millions that walk in darkness. When we review the headlines do we shake our heads in dismay and go on about our business or do we swallow hard and thank God that it’s only by His grace that we are set free from deception and can recognize His goodness. Do we show our thankfulness by being obedient? Do we consider what we can do in our own corner of the darkness to shine brightly? God weeps. Jeremiah weeps. We ought to weep too.

Prayer:

Father, allow my heart to be moved. Don’t let me wall myself in, indifferent to Your tears. Help me to move beyond tears and set my steps in obedience. Help me to walk in Your ways. May the words of Jeremiah 9:23 and 24 be mine, and may I also delight in those things.  ” Let us boast not of our wisdom, might or riches, but that we understand and know You, that you exercise lovingkindess, justice and righteousness on earth, for in these things You delight.”  In Jesus’ Name, yeah.

