Prayer Focus: Libya

Bible Reading: Jeremiah 29-32

Scripture

I will surely gather them from all the lands where I banish them in my furious anger and great wrath; I will bring them back to this place and let them live in safety. They will be my people, and I will be their God. I will give them singleness of heart and action, so that they will always fear me and that all will then go well for them and for their children after them. I will make an everlasting covenant with them: I will never stop doing good to them, and I will inspire them to fear me, so that they will never turn away from me. I will rejoice in doing them good and will assuredly plant them in this land with all my heart and soul. (Jeremiah 32:37-41)

Observation

In the midst of depressing page after depressing page, these verses offer a glimmer of hope to the readers. God will establish an everlasting covenant with His people. He will bring about restoration. There will be a day when the people will return to God and He will welcome them with open arms (see the Prodigal Son for a more vivid description).

Application

Many confuse the promises of Israel with the modern-day Church. It is also easy to confuse Old Testament prophesies that have been fulfilled with those that have not yet come to pass. Regardless, it is obvious that God’s affection for His people never ceases. He longs to love and know them…and for them to love and know Him.

Prayer

LORD, I want to know You…more! While I look forward to eternity in Your presence, I want to be fully present with You now. I want to worship You forever. I want to be united with my brothers and sisters, worshiping with one voice the One who is worthy of all honor, glory and praise. Hallelujah!!! Yeah!

 

