Prayer Focus: Luxembourg, Liechtenstein

Bible Reading: Jeremiah 33-37

Scripture:

Thus says the Lord who made the earth, the Lord who formed it to establish it, the Lord is His name, ‘Call to Me and I will answer you, and I will tell you great and mighty things, which you do not know.’ (Jer 33:2-3)

Thus says the Lord, ‘If you can break My covenant for the day and My covenant for the night, so that day and night will not be at their appointed time, 21 then My covenant may also be broken with David My servant so that he will not have a son to reign on his throne, and with the Levitical priests, My ministers. (Jer 33:20-21)

And concerning Jehoiakim king of Judah you shall say, ‘Thus says the Lord, “You have burned this scroll, saying, ‘Why have you written on it that the king of Babylon will certainly come and destroy this land, and will make man and beast to cease from it?’ 30 Therefore thus says the Lord concerning Jehoiakim king of Judah, “He shall have no one to sit on the throne of David, and his dead body shall be cast out to the heat of the day and the frost of the night.  (Jer 36:29-30)

Observation: 

Three tales, one story. Earlier in chapter 36, Jehoikim decided he didn’t like what God had to say, so he cut the scroll containing God’s message into pieces and burned it, discarding it into the flames as if that action alone could banish the words and make them not true. There is no reversal of fortune here. Indeed, in 36:29-30, God levies yet another curse, this one extremely personal, because of Jehoikim’s actions. If only he had chosen to respond to the heart of God and change his behavior, maybe God would have delayed His wrath.

From 33:20-21 we see God’s own words here, just as sure as night and day. God’s covenant, His promises, His blessings, His justice, will prevail. We can’t stop God from accomplishing His purposes any more than we can keep the sun from shining or the moon from reflecting the light. 

If we believe God means what He says, then 33:2-3 is a profound and wonderful opportunity. A glimpse of what Solomon was given –Wisdom. I’ve always felt that the great and mighty things in this verse God is waiting to reveal to us, is Himself – insight into His very nature.

Application:

I read on a bumper sticker today, “You are entitled to your own opinion, but not your own facts.” Bottom line, Truth is Truth, especially God’s Truth. Whether we embrace it or reject it does not change the Truth of His Word. We don’t get to choose what’s real. We can decide how that Truth will affect us. If we call, He WILL answer, and we’ll enter into a relationship with the Almighty, be cleansed from our sins, empowered to make better choices, and granted access to unspeakable and unlimited wisdom. What a deal!

Prayer: 

Father, thank you that You are reliable, that You’re a sure thing. Thank you that I can count on your Word to come to pass, both the good, which I rejoice in and the bad, which I wince at. Help me to be aware of the consequences in store for those who reject You, and in turn be so faithful to honor You in my day to day choices that people are drawn to You. Help me, every day, to call for You, to know You deeper and to know You better. Help me to “weep and pray for all the thousand ways that I fail You every day” and also to “celebrate for all the thousand ways that You have shown me grace.” I need You. Amen.

(lyrics from I Need You, written by Josh Bales, recorded by The Swift.)

