Prayer Focus: Mexico

Bible Reading: Ezekiel 5-8

Scripture

In the sixth year, in the sixth month on the fifth day, while I was sitting in my house and the elders of Judah were sitting before me, the hand of the Sovereign LORD came upon me there. I looked, and I saw a figure like that of a man. From what appeared to be his waist down he was like fire, and from there up his appearance was as bright as glowing metal. He stretched out what looked like a hand and took me by the hair of my head. The Spirit lifted me up between earth and heaven and in visions of God he took me to Jerusalem, to the entrance to the north gate of the inner court, where the idol that provokes to jealousy stood. And there before me was the glory of the God of Israel, as in the vision I had seen in the plain. (Ezekiel 8:1-4)

Observation

God works in mysterious ways! As Cliff noted yesterday, Ezekiel found himself in some unusual circumstances. In this text, we see the Spirit lifting him between earth and heaven and in visions of God taken to Jerusalem. Sometimes truth is stranger than fiction! Almighty God can and does do what He wants, when He wants, with whom He wants to accomplish His plans and purposes. In particular, prophets lived exciting lives, at times!

Application

Today, there are many who would gladly provide us with, uh, substances to help us astral project and experience visions and “trips.” Following God does not require potions to be exciting! His commands are challenging and are an effective cure for boredom! Experience tells me that the more committed we are to Him, the more radical the experiences. We may not be transported to another place, but it will be an unforgettable adventure.

Prayer

LORD, I’m glad You are not boring! While there are dry parts of the Scriptures, the Bible is certainly not boring. It would require all of today’s modern technology to even begin to make a movie based upon it…and more. I confess that I don’t understand all of the Bible—especially some of the more bizarre parts—but I’m grateful that you love me, know my name, and want a relationship with me. Thank You for surprises. Thank You for working in unexpected ways. Thank You for drawing us close to Yourself through trials, miracles, and other circumstances. Thank You for being so real and alive and active in our lives. Give us eyes to see and ears to hear what You are doing right now on our planet. Thank You for inviting us on Your mission. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

