Prayer Focus: Mexico

Bible Reading: Ezekiel 9-12

Scripture:

8” You have feared a sword; so I will bring a sword upon you,” the Lord God declares. 12 Thus you will know that I am the Lord; for you have not walked in My statutes nor have you executed My ordinances, but have acted according to the ordinances of the nations around you.’”  (Ezek 11:8, 12)

Observation:

Here we have God, through Ezekiel, addressing Israel’s remnant. They thought that because they had not been carried off into exile that perhaps they were better than those that had been taken. I can imagine the leaders that were left getting together and saying, “Maybe if we keep a low profile and blend in, they’ll just forget about us and leave us alone.” They were afraid, and rightly so, but it seems as if they were afraid of the wrong things. They weren’t focused on getting right with God; instead they were more worried about the conquering nation. In the end, the very thing they were afraid of was going to be the end of them because they did not walk in obedience. Instead, they behaved just like everyone else instead of the people that God had commanded them to be.

Application:

Last I checked, no conquering army was going to pick me up and move me to the other side of the country, but I have had days when I felt like I had a target on my back. Those moments when all I want to do is hide in my office or go back to bed and start the whole day over. Days when I think, if I just keep a low profile and my mouth shut, things will be fine. The challenge is that God doesn’t call us to be silent, though there are times when we should be still and know that He is God. He calls us to be witnesses. Every time I’m presented with an opportunity to share Christ or mention His name and don’t take it, I wonder – is it fear? Did the moment come and go before I was even aware of it? Why? Where was my focus? What was I thinking about that kept me from recognizing the chance to make a difference? Israel had one task really – be different – follow Me – and they missed it repeatedly. Ultimately, it caught up to them and impacted generations.

Prayer:

Lord, we love You and desire to follow You with all our hearts. We know You don’t give up on us. Help us to not be so afraid of those around us and how they might react or perceive us that we neglect to walk in Your ways. May Your desires be ours, Your ways our ways, so that we will be obedient and walk with You, step by step, moment by moment, every day. In our weakness, Lord, give us strength. For Your Glory and the building of Your Kingdom, Amen.

