Prayer Focus: Montenegro, Montserratt

 

Bible Reading: Ezekiel 25-28

Scripture

25 “This is what the Sovereign LORD says: The people of Israel will again live in their own land, the land I gave my servant Jacob. For I will gather them from the distant lands where I have scattered them. I will reveal to the nations of the world my holiness among my people.

26 They will live safely in Israel and build homes and plant vineyards. And when I punish the neighboring nations that treated them with contempt, they will know that I am the LORD their God.”

Ezekiel 28:25-26

Observation

After 3 1/2 chapters of the description of Israel’s enemies we get to a short passage on the restoration of Israel.  And what a wonderfully normal picture.  There’s no overblown, overreaching, Israel aggrandizing rhetoric.  Just a simple statement like, “you’ll build homes and plant vineyards.”  Wonderfully normal.

Application

I think the first application we have to take from these chapters is; don’t mess with Israel.  There’s some debate as to how this applies today, but I think it’s safe to say that God does not take it lightly when His people are abused.  He will avenge His people.  It’s in His time, of course, and God will let His people go through valleys and storms to refine them and make them more dependent on Him, but He will also save us from His enemies and those people that persecute us for being His people.

Prayer

Lord, so many today are trying to convince us to be leaders, to change the world, to do great things, to influence thousands, when you meet and call us right here, right now in the everyday normal day in day out world we call life.  I thank you for being the only leader and intercessor that I need, for changing the world, for doing the greatest thing; fulfilling the law by dying on the cross and rising from the grave to save me from my sins and give me new life.  Lord, I don’t need to be great, famous, or make the sun stand still, or expand my territory, or be a new king of Christian.  I just need to trust you.  To open my mouth when you give me utterance.  To love You, love my neighbor, and be Your witness.  I thank You for giving me a life that is wonderfully normal.

