Prayer Focus: Nicaragua

Bible Reading: Ezra 4-6

Scripture

For seven days they celebrated with joy the Feast of Unleavened Bread, because the LORD had filled them with joy by changing the attitude of the king of Assyria, so that he assisted them in the work on the house of God, the God of Israel. (Ezra 6:22)

Observation

The people of Israel met great opposition in their attempt to rebuild the Temple, yet King Darius not only allowed it, he encouraged and supplied materials for it. What a shift in the narrative! That must have been one unforgettable celebration!

Application

I have never experienced a week-long celebration…of anything! I can only imagine the joy, singing, dancing, and food that surrounded the completion of the rebuilding of the Temple. It must have been exciting for God, too, not only seeing His house completed, but witnessing the enthusiasm of His fickle people toward this achievement.

Prayer

Oh LORD, I pray that I would be this excited about You! I want to laugh and dance and sing for joy at Your goodness and faithfulness. There are times for mourning, but also for celebration. Help me to celebrate more. Help me to celebrate You more! In Jesus’ Name, amen.

