Prayer Focus: Niger

Bible Reading: Zechariah 1-7

Scripture

And the word of the LORD came again to Zechariah: “This is what the LORD Almighty says: ‘Administer true justice; show mercy and compassion to one another. Do not oppress the widow or the fatherless, the alien or the poor. In your hearts do not think evil of each other.’ (Zechariah 7:8-10)

Observation

The instructions were simple: be just, merciful, and compassionate. Did they follow? Of course note! Verse eleven says, “But they refused to pay attention; stubbornly they turned their backs and stopped up their ears.” Many continue to this day, tragically.

Application

God keeps things simple. Primarily, we are to merely love God and others. The people of Israel were told to essentially love, yet they did the opposite. As I criticize them, I quickly realize how often I fail in the simple commands of God. If I don’t receive instant gratification from doing something, I often fail to do it.

Prayer

Oh LORD, I don’t want to be one of the many that have ignored You. I want to pay attention to Your every command. Help me to show more justice, mercy and compassion. I have received so much, it should be natural to give it away, but it’s not! Help me to see others the way You see them. In Jesus’ Name, amen.

